Monthly Archives: January 2000

Al Jarreau’s New CD to Feature “A Remark You Made

Al Jarreau’s new CD, Yesterday and Today, will include a remake of Zawinul’s classic Weather Report tune, “A Remark You Made” (which originally appeared on Heavy Weather and is now retitled “Something That You Said”) with lyric. The CD will be release in Japan and Europe in February, and in the U.S. on March 7.

Read the Billboard article about Al Jarreau.

More Info on Celebrating the Music of Weather Report

Celebrating is the brain child of keyboard player and producer Jason Miles. According to his web site, the album “was inspired by an arrangement Miles made of the Weather Report track ‘Black Market’ for a Jay Beckenstein (from Spyro Gyro) solo CD. Apparently nobody has ever done a homage to the music of Weather Report project, and when Telarc liked the idea enough to put money behind it, Miles set to work to re-arrange about a dozen of Weather Report classics, showcasing his own synth and rhythm programming work, as well as his keyboard playing, and featuring an all-star cast with players like Joe Sample, Steve Gadd, David Sanborn, Omar Hakim, Randy Brecker, John Pattituci, Vinnie Colaiuta, John Scofield and Marcus Miller.” (

The Latest Zawinul Syndicate Line-Up Info

I have it on good authority that Victor Bailey remains a member of the Zawinul Syndicate, despite leading his own band on a European tour this spring. However, guitarist Gary Poulson has left the band and will be replaced by Amit Chatterjee. Chatterjee was previously a member of the Zawinul Syndicate from 1993 to 1997, and recorded on the albums My People and Stories of the Danube.

Richard Bona to Release Live EP in March?

According to a recent Los Angeles Times article by Don Heckman, former Zawinul Syndicate bass player Richard Bona will release a live EP in March, showcasing his formidable bass playing, heard only in a supporting role on his debut release, Scenes of My Life. Bona will also appear at the Playboy Jazz Festival this coming June in Hollywood, California, and will tour Europe for the first time this summer. The line-up for the Richard Bona Group is Aaron Heick – sax, Etienne Stadwijk – keyboards, J.C. Doo Kingue – guitar, Jonathan Joseph – drums, and Bona – electric bass, vocals.

Zawinul Syndicate Line-Up Change in the Offing?

It appears that this year’s edition of the Syndicate will not feature bass player Victor Bailey. According to European concert tour promotor EMMECI S.A.S., Bailey will tour Europe with his own band this coming March and April, and again in October and November. The Victor Bailey Group will consist of Kenny Garrett – sax, Dave Fiuczinsky – guitar, Jim Beard – keyboards, and Dennis Chambers – drums, and Bailey.

Meanwhile, the Zawinul Syndicate is booking European gigs this summer with a bass player to be announced. The rest of the Syndicate line-up remains the same as 1999: Gary Poulson – guitar, Manolo Badrena – percussion, vocals, and Karim Ziad – drums.